Easy Cooking “Southern Fried Cabbage”

Fried Cabbage? The only thing my mother ever did to cabbage was boiled, yes, boil it with onion, fatback or ham hock, salt, and pepper – boring. So, needless to say, when I got married and started my family I boiled cabbage as well. Until I discovered a scrumptious dish of fried cabbage, and I loved it.

photo

Now, I have cabbage my way – fried. No more bland and boring boiled cabbage for me! The recipe that I use to prepare my fried cabbage is shown below. Feel free to tweak it to suit you and your families taste. I hope you enjoy!  Easy Cooking, Easy Like Sunday Morning!

INGREDIENTS:

1 Head of Cabbage (Sliced) ~ Core, Slice, and Wash the Cabbage

7 Slices of Bacon (Cut in Thirds) ~ You May Substitute Vegetable Oil for the Bacon, or Use a Combination of 3 Slices of Bacon and 1/3 Cup of Vegetable Oil.

1 Sweet Onion (Chopped)

3 Sweet Peppers (Chopped) ~ One of Each (Red, Yellow, Orange)

1 Teaspoon Sugar

Salt and Pepper to Taste

COOKING DIRECTIONS:

  • Place your bacon and/or vegetable oil into a pot large enough for your cabbage. If you are using bacon, cook until the bacon is crisp.
  • Once the bacon (or oil) starts to fry or sizzle, stir in your chopped sweet onion and sweet peppers and continue to cook until bacon is crisp.
  • Once your bacon is crisp, add your sliced cabbage, sugar, salt and pepper into the pot. DO NOT ADD WATER.
  • Continue to cook and stir continuously until your cabbage reaches your desired tenderness. Generally ten to fifteen minutes.

** Sometimes, I also add a jalapeno pepper with my other sweet peppers and sweet onions.

I hope you enjoy!

 

 

 

About yvonnejamesblog

YVONNE JAMES, MINISTER OF THE GOSPEL, CHRISTIAN INSPIRATIONAL BLOGGER, POET AND NOVELIST
Gallery | This entry was posted in Easy Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

