Easy Cooking “Peach Cobbler”

I married young, and I remember asking my mother, Bird, one day for a recipe. She made the best peach cobbler there was from scratch. And her response was, “…get some peaches, sugar, flour, etc,” and I was asking how much of this, how much of that, and she would say, “Chelle, I don’t know girl, I just put it in there.”  Needless to say, I had to learn how to cook for my husband and six children the hard way – trial and error, and it had to be  Easy Cooking, Easy Like Sunday Morning!

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 Stick of Butter

1 29 oz Can of Peaches (do not drain)  

3 cups sugar

1 & 1/4 cups of water

1 heaping tablespoon of Cornstarch

1 & 1/2 Cups of Self-rising Flour

2 Teaspoons vanilla

Milk (oops, I had a Bird moment, the next time I prepare this cobbler, I will provide exact milk amount)

1 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/4 Teaspoon of Nutmeg

COOKING DIRECTIONS:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • In a heavy saucepan, combine the can peaches (undrained), 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water, and the nutmeg. Bring to a boil
  • In a small bowl, combine 3/4 cup water & the cornstarch (stir and mix well), and add it to the peach mixture. Return to boil
  • Melt the butter in a 13×9 baking pan (while your peaches are boiling)
  • In a mixing bowl, combine 1-1/2 cups sugar, the self-rising flour and vanilla, and enough milk to make a thin batter (a little thinner than a pancake batter)
  • Pour hot peaches into the pan with the melted butter, and pour batter all over peach mixture (do not stir)
  • Top with cinnamon/sugar mixture (1/2 cup sugar and cinnamon)
  • Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown

* Depending on the brand of can peaches you use, your ounce size may vary from 27-30 ounce cans. Don’t worry just get the closet size.

* I usually place a large cookie sheet underneath my pan in the oven just in case I have spill-overs. I don’t like cleaning up oven spills.

I hope you enjoy!

Related image

Easy Cooking “Peach Cobbler” ~~~ Yvonne James | https://www.yvonnejames.com

About yvonnejamesblog

YVONNE JAMES, MINISTER OF THE GOSPEL, CHRISTIAN INSPIRATIONAL BLOGGER, POET AND NOVELIST
Gallery | This entry was posted in Easy Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

