Mountain Climbing

 

“IT SEEMS AS though I have been looking for a way out of this drama for a very long time. This same old rugged, rocky, icy, and slippery mountain I’m yet trying to frantically – climb” (James, Yvonne, 2016, Baring My Soul, Mountain Climbing, pg 10).  

With the help of the Lord, I have climbed many mountains in my day – rough and rugged steep hills. There were times in my life when I did not think I would survive. Life’s struggles can take your breath away, destroy your spirit and will to fight! One thing that pulled me through and helped to push me forward was my faith in God.

Yes, there were some easy ways out, some shortcuts I could have taken if I was willing to compromise my beliefs. Through rejection, poverty, homelessness, betrayal, church hurt, and misuse I turned to God in prayer. I had no place else to go. If God could not, would not deliver me, I was doomed.

The first place I looked for answers was in the mirror. One thing I don’t like for sure is living a lie. I had to at least be honest with myself and figure out if I was a contributing factor to any of the troubles I was facing. And, the answer was YES! Some of these mountains I created myself, some I did not create, but I allowed to exist.

tumblr_o43degg8zg1v1xvwgo1_500

The next place I looked was to the Word of God. It taught me how to suffer with integrity. Suffer with integrity? What am I saying? The Word of God taught me about accountability, humility, repentance, and truth. I could not blame others, or even God, for the things I was going through that I brought upon myself. All I had to do was change what I was doing so that I could get a different outcome – integrity! Was it not Shakespeare that said, “This above all: to thine own self be true, and it must follow, as the night the day, thou canst not then be false to any man.”

Simply put, there were some choices I made in life that I was going to have to live through – they weren’t going anywhere. We all have our mountains to climb, our crosses to bear. Thank God we have a Father who can help us and turn even the most abrupt situation around. He forgives our sins and gives us a second chance. We cannot always escape our mountain climbing experience, but GOD’S GRACE IS SUFFICIENT to keep, sustain, maintain, and strengthen us for the journey.

Image result for woman's bloody hand climbing a mountain images

Looking up that mountain, it seems insurmountable! If you withdraw or give up now, you will not get to enjoy the fresh clean air at the top of the mountain – plant your banner of victory. Each victory will help you another victory to win! Remember, you are more than a conqueror and can do all things through Christ who is your strength. 

YOU ARE EITHER GOING TO CONQUER YOUR MOUNTAIN, OR THAT MOUNTAIN IS GOING TO CONQUER YOU! SO, HERE ARE A FEW MOUNTAIN CLIMBING TIPS:

  • Have Faith – Don’t Doubt God! Don’t Doubt Yourself!
  • Dismiss Fear – God is With You! He is Your God!
  • Mental Preparation – Whatever You Think in Your Mind – SO YOU ARE!
  • Be Proactive – Watch and Pray! Not Everyone Wants to See You Succeed!
  • Secure the Proper Tools – Put On the Whole Armour of God! Resist the Devil!
  • Travel Lite – Don’t Take Any Unnecessary Baggage with You! Let Go of the Past!
  • Lastly, VISUALIZE YOURSELF AT THE TOP OF THAT MOUNTAIN! See Yourself Victorious!

Climbers, “Be steadfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.” 

If you lose your footing, slip up and fall, lose ground – God is there to catch and uphold you with His righteousness. He will restore what you have lost.

Image result for God gives us the victory

Mountain Climbing ~~~ Yvonne James | https://www.yvonnejames.com

 

 

 

About yvonnejamesblog

YVONNE JAMES, MINISTER OF THE GOSPEL, CHRISTIAN INSPIRATIONAL BLOGGER, POET AND NOVELIST
Gallery | This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

